17 July 2017


Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak launched the second phase of the 51km Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) Sungai Buloh-Kajang (SBK) line, stating that "this is the real Kajang move".

Naming it as a ‘game changer’, the Phase 2 of the line connects the Semantan Station to the Kajang Station via 19 stations covering a distance of 30km.

Following the launch of Phase 1 last December, the marquee will bring drastic changes to the lives of Malaysians.

The MRT-SBK line has a total of 31 stations, with seven of them underground, namely Muzium Negara, Pasar Seni, Merdeka, Bukit Bintang, Tun Razak Exchange, Cochrane and Maluri.

Najib also announced a special package whereby commuters can ride the entire length of the line from 4pm to 11.30 pm Monday (17.07.17) for free.

Additionally, commuters using the MRT, LRT and monorail lines will enjoy a 50% discount starting Tuesday.

Commuters can enjoy the discount right until Merdeka Day on Aug 31, said Najib.